Lena Corwin’s Made by Hand

7 Jun

more than a year back when I was looking for a print-making book to keep as reference, I chanced upon Lena Corwin’s Printing by Hand and immediately wanted to head straight for the cashier. The clear instructions and good instructional photos, not to mention the pretty project patterns sold the book right away.

Image

 

so imagine my excitement when I found she has a new book out! I got to flip through Made by Hand and I love it! the book brings in more techniques beyond print-making as Lena Corwin invites her other artist friends to contribute a project each. the result? a book with how-tos for wide-ranging craft techniques including “dyeing, sewing, weaving, crochet, and jewelry making”.  For a crafter who likes to try everything (that’s me!), this book is quite perfect.

Image

check out the book’s trailer:

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/73904214″>Lena Corwin’s MADE BY HAND – Book Trailer</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/user4770199″>Lena Corwin</a> on <a href=”https://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

 

I loved that the idea from the book came from various classes held in her studio conducted by others. It just reminds me of what we are trying to do with the POPIN Studio this year! (while response has been slow, we are so grateful to be able to invite so many talented crafters with different skills from paper-cutting to dreamcatchers to ceramics to mosaic to soft sculpture to fabric stamping and book-binding!) oh and did i mention Lena Corwin’s Studio looks so dreamy?

doesn’t it make you want to get started on a crafty project right now?

 

(all images from Lena Corwin’s website)

Leave a comment